skip navigation

Flint City Bucks Selected to Host 2020 Hank Steinbrecher Cup

By Flint City Bucks, 03/10/20, 11:45AM EDT


USASA National Tournament to be held at Kettering’s Historic Atwood Stadium

Flint City Bucks Selected to Host 2020 Hank Steinbrecher Cup

USASA National Tournament to be held at Kettering’s Historic Atwood Stadium

FLINT, MI -  The United States Adult Soccer Association (USASA) has selected the Flint City Bucks as host for the 2020 Hank Steinbrecher (National) Cup at Kettering University’s historic Atwood Stadium, May 29-31. This is the first time the national tournament will be held in Michigan.

Competitors in the tournament always include the previous year’s Steinbrecher Cup winner and the U.S. Amateur Cup champion, along with top delegates from USL League Two and the National Premier Soccer League (NPSL). The Bucks, winners of the Steinbrecher Cup for the past three years, will join U.S. Soccer’s 2019 National Amateur Cup champion Newtown Pride FC (Sandy Hook, Conn.) along with Reading United AC (Reading, PA) of USL2 and Cleveland SC of NPSL.  Reading United AC have been USL2 National Runners Up in 2018 and 2019.  On August 3, 2019, the Flint City Bucks defeated Reading 1-0 at Atwood Stadium to win the National Championship in front of 7,198 fans.  The 2020 Steinbrecher Cup could feature a thrilling rematch should both teams advance to the title game.

Last season, in Milwaukee, the Bucks were crowned the nation’s top amateur team amongst all of the top U.S. Soccer amateur leagues. The tournament features three total matches – two semifinals on Friday, May 29 (at 5 p.m. and 7:30 p.m.) – with the winners playing on Sunday, May 31 at 1 p.m. The Bucks are expected to play in the 7:30 p.m. semifinal match on Friday.  The official Steinbrecher draw will occur at 12:00 p.m. on March 20, 2020.

Tickets for the 2020 Hank Steinbrecher Cup are on sale now at and at Flint Prints in the lobby of the Ferris Wheel Building in downtown Flint.  (615 S. Saginaw Street, Flint, MI 48502)  One ticket is valid for both games on Friday, May 29th.  The championship match requires its own ticket on Sunday, May 31st.

USASA Executive Director, Duncan Riddle remarked, “It is fitting that the 2020 Steinbrecher Cup will be played in Michigan, as three time (Steinbrecher) champions the Flint City Bucks have more than earned the right to host this prestigious competition. We look forward to seeing some highly competitive matches.”

The Steinbrecher Cup honors longtime U.S. Soccer legend, Hank Steinbrecher, Secretary General of the United States Soccer Federation from 1990-2000. Steinbrecher oversaw the successful 1994 World Cup in the United States, the 1996 Summer Olympics Soccer Tournament, the 1999 Women’s World Cup and the birth of Major League Soccer (MLS) in the United States in 1995.

“We take great pride in winning three consecutive Steinbrecher Cup national championships as the best team each year from across the ranks of amateur soccer from coast to coast,” said Bucks Chairman Dan Duggan. “I know our fans in Flint will embrace this opportunity to welcome three top clubs to our city to compete for this prestigious honor – and to be presented as the winner by soccer legend Hank Steinbrecher himself.

Flint Mayor, Sheldon Neeley commented, "The Flint City Bucks’ inaugural season was spectacular. I cannot wait to see what they do this year. We are delighted that Flint will have the opportunity to host the best amateur soccer players from around the country in the Hank Steinbrecher Cup, an all-champions tournament.”

“To be the host site for the 2020 Steinbrecher Cup is a tremendous opportunity for Flint and Genesee County,” said Tim Herman, CEO of the Flint & Genesee Chamber of Commerce. “This prestigious tournament will mean significant business for the local hospitality industry, including our hoteliers, restaurants and event support staff. It will also allow us to showcase Flint & Genesee to players, team and US Soccer officials, and fans from out of state. The community has really embraced the Flint City Bucks, and the Flint City Bucks have embraced Flint & Genesee. We’re looking forward to another terrific season and an outstanding tournament.”

The 2020 Steinbrecher Cup edition marks the Bucks’ fifth tournament appearance. Final confirmation of the NPSL and USL2 participants will be announced in mid January. Information regarding tickets and special family passes for the weekend tournament will be posted on the Bucks website in the New Year.

History:  The Hank Steinbrecher Cup is an all-champion tournament that was started in 2013. Its name honors Hank Steinbrecher, a National Soccer Hall of Fame member as well as recipient of the esteemed Werner Fricker Builder Award, former Secretary General of the USSF, coach, player and sports executive. The Steinbrecher is a competition between the reigning National Amateur Cup champion, the NPSL champion, the USL Two champion and the previous year’s Steinbrecher champion. The draw to determine the semifinal matchups takes place in January with competition set for the last weekend of May. Previous winners of the Hank Steinbrecher Cup include: Flint City Bucks – 2019, Michigan Bucks – 2018, Michigan Bucks – 2017, Chicago Fire U23 – 2016, Chattanooga FC – 2015, RWB Adria – 2014 and Carolina Dynamo – 2013.

Latest League Two News